Do I.T. Yourself

an accidental geek’s misadventures in the I.T. world

Archive for the ‘Net Hoaxes’ Category

UPS/FedEx Delivery Failure Virus

UPS / Fedex Virus Email

This is one of the newer (although kinda stupid) virus spreaders I have seen this year. It sends a UPS notice to a random (in this case even non-existent) email address in your domain with an attachment of a virus disguised as an invoice to be printed out.

Thank goodness our company has invested on a security gateway called Borderware, which prevents malicious emails such as this from wreaking havoc on the network.

A common (and unfortunately, effective) technique for luring e-mail users into opening virus-launching attachments is to send messages that would appear to be relevant or important to many of their potential recipients. One way of accomplishing this feat is to make the virus-carrying messages appear to come from some type of business entity that many people commonly deal with, such as one of the large Internet auction or retailing sites, or a national bank (or other financial institution), or a major provider of a common service.
Snopes.com

Rule is always to check the originating email address. In this case the sender is NOT UPS but “teld@grics.qc.ca”. That itself is a tell-tale sign that the email is fraudulent.

Ebay Phishing Site - shamick.com to grandzawiyah.com

At first glance it looks just like the real ebay site. But a quick look at the URL in the address bar will tell you that this is NOT ebay.

The link says http://www.grandzawiyah.com/state.wa/signin.htm?213rjceirjqexr98rdlkmsanchfrinvc58ucrdjkxnerimjgtmxkjnzmhrugt45ncoirehviuhtrckm45x and you end up here if you happen to have received the spoofed ebay email.

My client got theirs from email address eBay Member: quickshipelectronics [mailto:lindbergjh@hotmail.com] and as usual I checked the URLs embedded in the email. While on the surface the URLs say http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130258573190 the actual destination is http://www.shamick.com/SWF?item=130258573190 which leads you to the URL of the site in the screenshot above.

However, www.shamick.com and www.grandzawiyah.com appear to be legitimate domains and websites — but people with malicious intent may have hijacked a subfolder on their hosting service where the redirect from shamick.com/swf has been placed to lead to the fake ebay landing page above.

So a CAVEAT to all. Check the actual links before you click on them, especially if you know you shouldn’t be getting emails from services you have not signed for. Mouse over the link and then check if the URL that appears in your status bar matches the link and is the actual URL of the service.

X-Links




commentluv here

Flickrville

    www.flickr.com

Where y'all from?